Nine Inch Nails Are Better Than You

I went on a road trip the other day to see one of my favourite bands, Nine Inch Nails. Yeah, sure, I saw them a couple of months ago at the Molson Ampitheatre in Toronto, and yeah, sure, they’re playing there again this Sunday as a part of the Virgin Festival… but when I heard they were playing a few intimate shows in New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles before they go on hiatus, I decided I’d try my damndest to make it to one of them.

Luckily, my experience at buying tickets incredibly quickly off of Ticketmaster came in handy at 5:00 PM a few weeks ago, as I scored tickets to the August 26th show at Terminal 5 in New York City.

Let me tell you, the money spent on tickets, transportation, and the night’s accommodation was more than worth it. For some people, being crammed in at the front of a concert venue with no air conditioning and getting drenched in sweat while having loud rock music blasted in your ears for hours sounds like a nightmare. For me, it was like winning the lottery 31 times in 3 hours. There’s no sense getting into the details, you can read reviews of the show all over the internet. Just know that I’ve been to hundreds and hundreds of shows and this is one of the very best I’ve ever seen, and know that I haven’t been able to get the smile off of my face for a few days now.

Here’s the setlist.

Here are some fantastic photos, from Hypernyck.

Here’s Piggy (Nothing Can Stop Me Now):

Here’s Reptile, with guest Peter Murphy of Bauhaus hanging upside-down from the ceiling:

About this entry