All Hail Down And Voivod

I did enough ranting last week with my posts on those ridiculous Guitar Hero “instruments” and the Kanye West debacle. All I want to talk about today is the awesomeness of the Down & Voivod show I went to on Friday night in Toronto.

I loved it. It was nothing more than an honest-to-goodness metal show. Tons of fun. FUN. No pretentious rockstar crap, just a bunch of dudes playing some awesome songs and being very appreciative of the couple thousand Canadians going crazy for them.

Voivod are, obviously, legends. The same can be said for Down, or at least it can be said about some of the guys in Down (Phil Anselmo of Pantera, Pepper Keenan of Corrosion of Conformity). They didn’t just come out and go through the motions, though – they were really enjoying themselves. This is what I want at a show. Phil came out and sang “Nothingface” with Voivod during their set, and Down’s set ended with the Voivod guys coming out and playing “Bury Me In Smoke” with them. This is stuff that they don’t HAVE to do, but it certainly made the evening feel more special.

Here’s “Nothingface”:

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any good quality videos of Down’s set in TO, but here are a couple from NYC the week before…

Here’s “Stone The Crow”:

Finally, here’s their awesome cover of “Ain’t Talkin’ Bout Love” by Van Halen:


About this entry